Equipment

SAFETY EQUIPMENT

S a boat operator your fun on the water depends
on your behavior. It is your responsibility to have
the safety equipment required by law, to keep it on

board in good condition, and know how to properly use it.
YOU ARE IN COMMAND!

Connecticut Life Jacket and
Personal Flotation Device (PFD) Laws

More than 90 percent of boating fatalities could have
been avoided by wearing a life jacket:

e There must be a wearable life jacket on board for each
person aboard every vessel.

e Fach life jacket must be readily accessible.

e Each life jacket must fit the intended wearer.

o |f the vessel is required to have a Type IV “throwable”
PFD (see page 36), it must be immediately available.

Life jackets must:

 Be U.S. Coast Guard approved.

e Have a legible label.

¢ Be of the correct size and fit for the wearer. A life jacket
should fit comfortably snug and never cover your face or ride
up past your ears.

* Be in serviceable condition (all straps and buckles must
be in good condition and able to perform their jobs; all seams
and material must be intact).

e Be worn by children under 13 years old on any vessel
that is underway unless the child is below deck or in an
enclosed cabin.

¢ Be worn by anyone operating or riding on a PWC.

¢ Be worn by anyone being pulled behind a boat (such
as tubing or skiing).

e Be worn by anyone in a manually propelled vessel
from October 1 through May 31 (must be Type I, I, lll, V or
V-hybrid), except as noted on next page.

Remember:

e Ski belts are not legal life jackets.

o |nflatable life jackets may not be used by persons
engaged in high-speed water sports (such as riding
PWCs or waterskiing) and may not be used by persons
weighing under 90 Ibs. or under 16 years of age.

All vessels 16 feet and over, except kayaks and
canoes, must also carry a Type IV throwable device in
addition to the required number of wearable life jackets.

|
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SAFETY EQUIPMENT

Special Rules for Wearing Life Jackets
in Manually Propelled Racing Vessels

Persons operating Racing Shells, Racing Canoes, Racing
Kayaks and Rowing Sculls and involved in competitive racing are
not required to wear or carry life jackets if accompanied at all
times by an escort vessel. The escort vessel may escort up to
three racing vessels and must be able to see all escorted vessels
at all times and without the assistance of artificial devices other
than eyeglasses. The requirement for an escort vessel may be
waived during an organized race event where a Marine Event
Permit has been approved by the Commissioner and other steps
have been taken for the safety of the participants.

Visual Distress Signals (VDS)

Visual distress signals are to be used to summon assistance
when in distress.

In the State of Connecticut no VDS are required anywhere
except when boating on Long Island Sound (LIS) and on Fishers
Island Sound (FIS).

The following vessels only need to carry VDS on LIS and FIS *

e Between sunset and sunrise:

— Recreational vessels under 16 feet;
— Open sailboats less than 26 feet that are not equipped
with propulsion machinery; and
— Manually propelled vessels.
All other vessels need to carry three daytime and three

nighttime VDS (or the equivalent) at all times while on FIS and LIS.

e Visual distress signals must be U.S. Coast Guard approved,
in serviceable condition and stowed to be readily accessible.
e |J.S. Coast Guard approved pyrotechnic visual distress signals and
associated devices include:
— Pyrotechnic red flares, hand-held or aerial.

— Pyrotechnic orange smoke, hand-held or floating (day use only).

— Launchers for aerial red meteors or parachute flares.

o |f VDS are required there must be a minimum of three daytime
and three nighttime signals, or three combination day/night signals.
Pyrotechnic devices will have an expiration date that must not have
passed.

o Non-pyrotechnic visual distress signaling devices include:
— Orange distress flags.
— Electric distress signals.

o Other VDS, such as those listed below, are useful and easy to carry
and are recognized as distress signals, but do not count toward the
requirement to carry approved VDS on LIS and FIS.

— Signaling mirror.
— Water dye.

* No person, operator or owner in a vessel shall display or allow
the display of a visual distress signal except when assistance is needed
because of immediate or potential danger to the vessel or to persons
aboard.

Expired Flare Disposal

o For information about the disposal of marine flares, contact the
Education Section of the Boating Division (860-434-8638).

o Take advantage of our “Flare Days”. Learn the proper way to shoot
off flares. Watch your local newspapers for site locations and times.

Fire Extinguishers

e Fires involving burning wood, fabrics and paper (Type A) can be
put out with water.

e Most boat fires consist of burning flammable liquids such as oil
or gasoline (Type B). Check the table at the beginning of this section
to determine how many Type B-1 fire extinguishers you must have on
your boat. Electrical fires can be put out with a Type C extinguisher.

e Check frequently to be sure that fire extinguishers are properly
mounted where they can be easily reached. Check pressure gauges
for proper pressure. Shake dry chemical units to be sure the chemical
has not solidified and become useless. Replace any questionable
extinguishers.

Backfire Flame Arrestors

Internal combustion engines may backfire. To safeguard against
fire, all inboard motorboats with carburetion must have a backfire flame
arrestor system on each carburetor. Know where they are and keep
them clean.

failures to submit will result in a fine of $535.

NOTE: Exceeding noise levels is a serious problem. Marine Police will be targeting areas, espe-
cially on the Connecticut River, to check for compliance. Exceeding noise levels will result in a fine
of $220. Failing to submit to an on-site noise level test will result in a fine of $435. Subsequent
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Attention Boaters
WE WANT TO HEAR Fill out this survey and

return to the address below

|: R O |\/| YO U | or take the survey online.

[=] 355 =]
1) How long have you been boating? ;%[ﬁ'é]
O Not a Boater Q 1-3 Years O 4-6 Years All survey gy rnth:
participants
Q7-10Years 1 10 or Greater will beWI N
2) What kind of boat do you have? entered to
an inflatable

Q Paddlecraft QA Pontoon Boat Q4 Sailboat A Powerboat
3) How do you use your boat?

QA Fishing Q@ Day Trips QA Cruising 0 Family Activities  Q Water Sports 4 Other
4) Where do you keep your boat in the summer?

Q Traller Q Slip O Mooring @ Own Dock  Q Other
5) Where do you use your boat?

Q Coastal CT QA Inland CT Lakes & Rivers Q@ Other States in New England @ Other
6) Do you belong to an organization that teaches boating safety?

Q Local Club @ US Power Squadrons  Q USCG Auxiliary 4 Other
7) Have you seen this guide previously? O VYes U No
8) What did you like best about this guide?

What section do you use MOST LEAST?

How often do you reference the guide?

life jacket.

Q Annually Q Periodically Through Summer Q Every Few Years Q Never
9) What would you like to see improved or changed in this free guide?

Name:

Address:

City: State: Zip Code:
Phone: Email:

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION
BUREAU OF OUTDOOR RECREATION, Attn: BOATING DIVISION e 333 Ferry Road, P.0. Box 280, Old Lyme 06371-0280
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SAFETY EQUIPMENT

CONNECTICUT AND U.S. COAST GUARD MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS

Equipment

Class 1
16 feet to less than 26 feet (4.9 to
less than 7.9m)

Class A
Less than 16 feet (less than 4.9 m)

Class 2
26 to less than 40 feet
(7.9 t0 12.2m)

Class 3
40 to less than 65 feet (12.2
to less than 19.8m)

Backfire Flame

The device must be suitably attached to the air intake with a flametight connection and is

Arrestor | required to be Coast Guard Approved or comply with SAEJ-1928 or UL1111 standards and marked
accordingly.
Ventilation | At least two ventilator ducts, fitted with cowls or their equivalent, for the purpose of properly
Bw‘iﬁ;_"ﬁ f’%‘gg and effectively ventilating the bilges of every closed engine and fuel tank compartment of boats
constructed or decked over after April 25, 1940, using gasoline as fuel.
At least two ventilator ducts for the purpose of efficiently ventilating every closed compartment
that contains a gasoline engine and every closed compartment containing a gasoline tank, except
I those having permanently installed tanks which vent outside the boat and which contain no
Ventilation ) . : . . ) .
Boats built on or after | UNProtected electrical devices. Also, engine compartments containing a gasoline engine having
Aug.1,1980 | g cranking motor must be open to the atmosphere or contain power operated exhaust blowers
which can be controlled from the instrument panel.
One approved Type I, II, 1l One approved Type I, II, Il or V PFD for each person on board
Personal | or V PFD for each person or being towed on waterskis, etc.; and, in addition, one
Flotation | on board or being towed on | throwable Type IV device. (Type IV not required for canoes and
Devices | waterskis, etc. Check label if | kayaks.) Check label if using Type V.

using Type V.

Sound-Producing

Devices
— Whistle
See page 20

Must have some
means of making an
efficient sound signal.

Must have some means of
making an efficient sound
signal.

Must have some
means of making
an efficient sound
signal.

Must have a whistle
audible for at least
one-half mile, and
a bell.

Visual Distress

Must carry approved visual

Must carry visual distress signals approved for both daytime use and

~ Signals | distress signals for nighttime | pighttime use.
Reauired on coastal | ;6 when operating at night.
aters only
] At least one B-1 type approved hand portable fire extin- At least two B-1 type | Atleast three B-1 type
. Fire | quisher. Not required on outboard motorboats less than | approved portable approved portable fire
(Mulsztxsta';‘gog'sfgfarrﬁ 26 feet (7.9 meters) in length and not carrying passen- | fire extinguishers; OR | extinguishers; OR at
Approved) | 9ers for hire if the construction of such motorboat will not | at least one B-ll type | least one B-1 type

permit the entrapment of explosive or flammable gases or
vapors and if fuel tanks are not permanently installed.

approved portable fire
extinguisher.

plus one B-Il type
approved portable fire
extinguisher.

NOTE: When a fixed fire extinguishing system is installed in the machinery space(s), it will replace one B-1 type portable extinguisher.
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Defender

Marine Outfitter Of Choice For Boating Enthusiasts Since 1938

Your Discount €

2 Source!

The Brightest Name in Safety

* -

Coastal Alerter Plus 12-Gauge Launcher
w/6 Aerial Signals, Whistle & Mirror

Contains aerial, visual and sound signals.
When combined with handheld flares makes
the perfect kit for Coastal boaters.
® 12-Gauge Safety Launcher - Corrosion
resistant with lifetime warranty and
bandolier that can hold up to (6) High
Performance Signals
(6)12-Gauge High Performance Red Aerial
Signal - U. S. Coast Guard Approved Day
or Nighttime Signal
(1) SOLAS Approved Whistle w/Lanyard -
116db at 1 meter
(1) Signal Mirror - Non-corrosive material
Includes view finder and lanyard
Floating Neoprene Storage Case - Highly
visible international orange, protects signals
during storage

ltem 552489 Model 572 Omly $69.99*

Valid 1/1/2016 - 12/31/2016

* Save $10 each in our Outlet Store *
Applies to any quantity of item 552489 or 552488. Customer must present coupon.

Inland Handheld Signal Kit w/

Accessories & Air Horn

This kit is design to meet both your visual and

audible Coast Guard requirements.

® (4) Handheld Red Signal Flares
Brightness: Up to 700 candela
Burn Time: Up to 3 minutes each
(1) SOLAS Approved Whistle w/Lanyard
116db at 1 meter
(1) Handheld Orange Smoke Signal - U. S.
Coast Guard Approved Daytime Signal
Average burn time: Up to 1 minute each

e (1) 1.5 oz. Mini Horn

e (1) Signal Mirror - Non-corrosive material
Includes view finder and lanyard
Floating Neoprene Storage Case - Highly
visible international orange, protects signals
during storage

ltem 552488 Model 543 Only $64.99*

FORTOH L=

Detende,
THE BRANDS you WANT anp TRUST in STOCK ror LESS! Over 50,000 Items In Stock! —
Available for store pick up at 42 Great Neck Road, Waterford, CT 06385 .

800-628-8225

FREE ...
Cararoc! S—
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SAFETY EQUIPMENT

Ventilation

Regulations require ventilation of all enclosed engine and fuel tank
compartments on gasoline-powered boats. Intake ducting must extend
midway to the bilge or at least below the carburetor air intake level.
Exhaust ducting must extend from the lower bilge to cowls in the open
air. Manufacturers install exhaust blowers in engine compartments so
that gasoline fumes can be removed before the engines are started. If
your boat is installed with an exhaust blower, it is recommended that
you turn it on for at least four minutes before starting the engine.

Whistle (Horn) and Bell

o Navigation rules (part of Federal Law) require all vessels (including
canoes and kayaks) to have audible signaling devices. (See chart on page 18.)

o Fvery vessel of 12 meters (39.36 ft.) or less in length must have some
means of making an efficient sound signal.

o Every vessel of at least 12 meters (39.36 ft.) in length but less than 20
meters (65.6 ft.) in length must have a whistle capable of being heard for at
least one-half mile, and a bell.

Mufflers (Noise Levels)

No one shall operate a motorboat on the waters of this state unless the
boat is equipped with a muffler or muffler system allowing it to be operated
in compliance with state law.

Noise levels range from 90dB(A) for older engines to 88dB(A) for
engines made after January 1, 1993. Any marine police who believes a
motorboat is being operated in excess of the established noise levels may
request the operator to submit the motorboat to an on-site noise level test.
No person shall sell a motorboat which does not operate in compliance with
the established noise levels. Boaters should contact the Boating Division if
they are selling a vessel used only in marine races.

No one shall operate a motorboat on the waters of this state that is
equipped with a muffler or muffler system cutout, bypass or similar device
that prevents the motorboat from operating in compliance with state noise
levels and without authorization from the Commissioner.

Trailering Your Boat

The DMV has laws relative to boat trailers. Each trailer having a gross
weight of 3.000 pounds or more shall, when operated on any public
highway, be equipped with a braking system operating on all wheels. For
trailers having a gross weight of greater than 8,000 pounds, the brakes
shall be capable of being controlled or operated from the driver’s seat of the
towing vehicle.
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NOTE: Connecticut law limits the width of vehicles
and trailers that travel on Connecticut’s highways and
bridges to 8 feet. Vehicles or loads wider than this
require an oversize vehicle permit. Oversize vehicle
permits are available through the Department of
Transportation.

Courtesy

Boating at high speeds is dangerous in restricted or
congested areas. Each skipper is responsible for spotting and
avoiding swimmers and slow-moving vessels. This is also
important when picking up or dropping off waterskiiers.

Spill Information

Section 22a-450 of the Connecticut General Statutes
requires the master of any ship, boat, barge or other vessel or
the operator of any vehicle or trailer or other machine which
causes the discharge of oil or petroleum or other substance to
the waters of the state to immediately report such facts to:

The Department of Energy and Environmental Protection
(DEEP), Emergency Response Unit, 860-424-3338 or toll free 1-
866-DEP-SPIL (1-866-337-7745), 24 hours/day. Should these
numbers become unavailable for any reason, call
860-424-3333.

You will need to be prepared to report such information as:

o the location;

e the quantity and type of substance, material or waste;

e the date and the cause of the incident;

¢ the name and address of the owner; and

e the name and address of the person making the report
and his relationship to the owner.

Note: Unless specifically requested, the DEEP does not
require a written submission when reporting a spill.

Penalties

Any person who fails to report incidents as required by
Chapter 446k, Section 22a-450 may be fined not more than
$1,000 and the employer of such person not more than $5,000.




