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SUBJECT: New College Immunization Requirements

Beginning August 1, 2010, Section 10a-155 of the Connecticut general statutes will require that each
full time or matriculating student provide proof of adequate immunization against measles, mumps,
rubella (MMR) and varicella as recommended by the Advisory Committee for Immunization Practices
(ACIP). Several questions have arisen concerning the interpretation of these requirements. The
following information should help clarify which students are affected and what documentation is
required for entry into each institution of higher learning. A copy of the statute is available at
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2009/pub/chap185b.htm#Sec10a-155.htm

Full Time/Matriculating Students

The new requirements will affect all full time students as well as all matriculating students.
Matriculating students are defined as those enrolled in a degree-seeking program. Part time non-
matriculating students are not required to have MMR and varicella immunizations although they are
recommended to have those vaccines by ACIP.

MMR Vaccine

Beginning August 1, 2010 all incoming freshman will be required to show proof of 2 doses of
measles, mumps and rubella vaccine. The doses should be separated by at least 28 days with dose
number one given on or after the first birthday. Exemptions to this requirement include:

1. Individuals born before January 1, 1957,

2. Laboratory confirmation of immunity to such disease,

3. Documentation from a physician stating that the student is medically contraindicated from
receiving such vaccine,

4. Documentation from the student that such an immunization is contrary to his/her religious
beliefs,

5. Documentation from a physician or director of health that the student has had a confirmed
case of such disease,

6. Students who graduated from a Connecticut high school in 1999 or later and were not
exempt from MMR vaccinations,

7. Enrollment in a distance-learning program conducted entirely through electronic media in a
setting without other students present.



Varicella VVaccine

Beginning August 1, 2010 all incoming freshman will be required to show proof of 2 doses of
varicella (chickenpox) vaccine. The doses should be separated by at least 28 days with dose number
one given on or after the first birthday. Exemptions to this requirement include:

1. Individuals born in the United States before January 1, 1980,

2. Laboratory confirmation of immunity to such disease,

3. Documentation from a physician stating that the student is medically contraindicated from
receiving such vaccine,

4. Documentation from the student that such an immunization is contrary to his/her religious
beliefs,

5. Documentation from a physician or director of health that the student has had a confirmed
case of such disease,

6. Enrollment in a distance-learning program conducted entirely through electronic media in a
setting without other students present.

Graduation from a Connecticut high school in 1999 or later does NOT apply to varicella vaccine.
Adequate evidence of immunity and the exemptions noted above are consistent with the ACIP
varicella recommendations. Parental or self-report of historic varicella disease is no longer considered
acceptable evidence of immunity, as naturally occurring infection has declined dramatically and
clinical illness has become more difficult to recognize. The full ACIP recommendations for prevention
of varicella are available at http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/preview/mmwrhtml/rr5604al.htm.

As always if you have any questions, please free feel to contact my office at (860) 509-7929.



