
NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS 
FACT SHEET ON BIENNIAL LICENSING AND CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 

 
Biennial Licensing 

 
Effective January 1, 2004, licenses issued to nursing home administrators will be subject to renewal once 
every two years. 
 
Renewal applications for these professions that are received prior to January 1, 2004 will be accepted 
with the current fee of $50.00 and will receive a 1-year license.  Renewal applications for these 
professions that are received on or after January 1, 2004 must be accompanied by the new fee of 
$100.00 and will receive a 2-year license. 
 
Please note that an application will not be processed until such time as the correct fee is received.  Any 
applications received on or after January 1, 2004 that are not accompanied by the new fee will be 
returned to the licensee.  Applications and fees received after the 90-day grace period cannot be 
processed.   

 
Continuing Education Requirements 

 
Effective January 1, 2004, licensed nursing home administrators are required to participate in continuing 
education activities.  As a licensed nursing home administrator, you must comply with all of the laws and 
regulations governing your profession.  Please note the following: 

• Licensed nursing home administrators shall complete a minimum of forty hours of qualifying 
continuing education every two years, commencing January 1, 2004. 

• The continuing education shall be in areas related to the licensee's practice. Qualifying continuing 
education activities are: courses offered or approved by the Connecticut Association of Healthcare 
Facilities, the Connecticut Association of Not-for-profit Providers for the Aging, the Connecticut 
Chapter of the American College of Health Care Administrators, the Association For Long Term Care 
Financial Managers, any accredited college or university, or programs presented or approved by the 
National Continuing Education Review Service of the National Association of Boards of Examiners of 
Long Term Care Administrators, or by federal or state departments or agencies.  The Department 
does not approve continuing education courses or pre-approve specific coursework for individual 
licensees, nor does the Department maintain a list of continuing education courses. 

• Each licensee must obtain a certificate of completion from the provider of the continuing education for 
all continuing education hours that are successfully completed and shall retain such certificate for a 
minimum of three years.  Upon request by the department, the licensee shall submit the certificate to 
the department.  A licensee who fails to comply with the continuing education requirements, including 
failure to maintain proof of course completion, shall be subject to disciplinary action. 

• Each licensee applying for license renewal will be asked to attest that the licensee satisfies the 
continuing education requirements. Certificates of completion should not be mailed to the Department 
unless a licensee is specifically directed to do so.   

• A licensee who is applying for license renewal for the first time is exempt from continuing education 
requirements until such licensee’s next registration period. 

• The Department may, for a licensee who has a medical disability or illness, grant a waiver of the 
continuing education requirements for a specific period of time or may grant the licensee an extension 
of time in which to fulfill the requirements.  Waivers must be requested at the time of license renewal.  
 

Should you have any questions regarding license renewal or continuing education requirements, or wish 
to request a waiver of the continuing education requirements, please contact the Office of Practitioner 
Licensing and Certification at (860) 509-7603. 

 



 
Provisions of Connecticut General Statutes 

Continuing Education for Nursing Home Administrators 
 

Section 19a-515. (Formerly Sec. 19-596). License renewal. Continuing education requirement. (a) Each nursing 
home administrator's license issued pursuant to the provisions of sections 19a-511 to 19a-520, inclusive, shall be 
renewed once every two years, in accordance with section 19a-88, except for cause, by the Department of Public 
Health, upon forms to be furnished by said department and upon the payment to said department, by each applicant 
for license renewal, of the sum of one hundred dollars. Each such fee shall be remitted to the Department of Public 
Health on or before the date prescribed under section 19a-88. Such renewals shall be granted unless said department 
finds the applicant has acted or failed to act in such a manner or under such circumstances as would constitute 
grounds for suspension or revocation of such license. 
 
(b) Each licensee shall complete a minimum of forty hours of continuing education every two years. Such two-year 
period shall commence on the first date of renewal of the licensee's license after January 1, 2004. The continuing 
education shall be in areas related to the licensee's practice. Qualifying continuing education activities are courses 
offered or approved by the Connecticut Association of Healthcare Facilities, the Connecticut Association of Not-
For-Profit Providers for the Aging, the Connecticut Chapter of the American College of Health Care Administrators, 
the Association For Long Term Care Financial Managers or any accredited college or university, or programs 
presented or approved by the National Continuing Education Review Service of the National Association of Boards 
of Examiners of Long Term Care Administrators, or by federal or state departments or agencies. 
 
(c) Each licensee shall obtain a certificate of completion from the provider of the continuing education for all 
continuing education hours that are successfully completed and shall retain such certificate for a minimum of three 
years. Upon request by the department, the licensee shall submit the certificate to the department. A licensee who 
fails to comply with the continuing education requirements shall be subject to disciplinary action pursuant to section 
19a-517. 
 
(d) The continuing education requirements shall be waived for licensees applying for licensure renewal for the first 
time. The department may, for a licensee who has a medical disability or illness, grant a waiver of the continuing 
education requirements for a specific period of time or may grant the licensee an extension of time in which to fulfill 
the requirements. 
 
 


